The Alberni Valley Chamber of Commerce would like to congratulate all the big winners at our recent Community Excellence Awards Dinner.
The small business excellence award went to Boutique Belles Amies while the large business excellence award was given to the Port Boathouse. Entrepreneur of the year was Bob Causault. The customer service excellence award was presented to Finishing Touches. Always a difficult category to judge (particularly in this town), is the volunteers of the year. For 2009 we recognized Gerry Fagan for his many years of volunteering for anything and everything. The 2009 environmental award went to the Ink Spot. The award for excellence when it comes to being children and family friendly was presented to Impact Bowling. Three outstanding youngsters from our community were presented with awards; Angel Magnussen, Jolleen Dyck and Erin Palmer. The citizen of the year award was shared between Tom McEvay and Ron Paulson for their huge commitment of guiding our community through the wildly successful U 17 Hockey event and their many other good works in the valley. The evening was topped off with a special recognition award that the chamber presented to the owners of Cedar Wood Lodge, Maria and Tom Housholder for their contributions to the community and the chamber.
During the Annual General Meeting, the new Board of Directors was acclaimed and sworn in. The new chamber board welcomes Elliott Drew as president for 2009. First VP is Colleen Sawyer. Second VP is Peter Wienold and our new treasurer is our immediate past president, Dewayne Parfitt. One-year directors include Mary Ann Naesgaard, Ozren Nemec, Linda Whiteman, Jessica Bleasdale and Bob Cole. Two year terms will be served by Wayne Creelman, Jim Creighton, Jim Del Rio, Neil Malbon and Laurie Smillie. Our board appointees are John Bennie (SD 70), Dennis Bill (Tseshaht), Doug Blake (Community Futures), Aaron Hamilton (Hupacasath), Blake Johnson (PRTA), Jason Penner (PAPA), Kenn Whiteman (City of Port Alberni) and Glenn Wong (Regional Board).
Chamber staff members were recognized for their hard work and dedication. Presented with floral bouquets were Jag Sidoruk, Deb Oakes and Yvette Carter. Thanks to Dave’s Catering for a superbly delicious meal and to Doug Gretzinger for the guitar stylings.
The chamber’s next Networking Luncheon will take place Wednesday May 13th at the Barclay, when we will hear from the president of the Comox Valley Chamber of Commerce.
Thought for the Week:
“Experience is not what happens to you. It is what you do with what happens to you.” Aldous Huxley